Home > Uncategorized > Using mathematical fantasy to think about social tesseracting

Using mathematical fantasy to think about social tesseracting

I was telling Kate Hayles two weeks ago during our meeting about certain mathematical fantasy fictions which I’ve read as a teenager that actually helped me think about embodiment of mathematics, and of the larger meaning of social reality, through material realization of number theories and n-dimensional topology, geometry and algebra. I thought I’ll like to put out the titles here which I’ve found useful for me. They are in the Duke Library and also can be found on Amazon. The ones on Amazon should be reissues of the ones I’ve read in the 90s.

Fantasia Mathematica. Ed Clifton Fadiman

http://www.amazon.com/Fantasia-Mathematica-Clifton-Fadiman/dp/0387949313

You can also access the e-version of the stories here

http://www.iblist.com/book6631.htm

Imaginary Numbers: An Anthology of Marvelous Mathematical Stories, Diversions, Poems, and Musings. Ed William Frucht.

http://www.amazon.com/Imaginary-Numbers-Anthology-Mathematical-Diversions/dp/0471332445/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_b

I couldn’t find e-links to the stories in the second book but please do let me know if anyone else here does!

Enjoy!

So do check them out if you’re interested. I would certainly reread them if I’ve time.

UPDATE: I found my old review of Clifford Pickover’s  “A Passion for Mathematics” that I did for a Malaysian newspaper in 2007. Thought you might find this book interesting.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

